Veterinary Library
  About our Library
  Conferences
  E-Resources
Veterinary Databases
Veterinary E-Journals
Veterinary E-Books
  Faculty of Veterinary Science
  Information for new users
  Interlending
  Library in your Office
  Newsletters
  Projects
  Research support
  Services
  Staff and Subjects
  Useful websites / links
  Training
   
   
   
  Website maintained by
Antoinette Lourens

 

Department of Library Services
 
 
UP Home
Home About the Library Services/Facilities E-Resources Journals Catalogue Training Contact
 
                        src=
Faculty Libraries
Special Collections
Teaching Support
Research Support
Learning Support
Copyright & Plagiarism
Referencing Techniques
    Projects of the Veterinary Science Library : Vet Books for Africa
   
 

Itinerary : Vet Books for Africa : 2000
24 November 2000 - 7 January 2001

  • Friday 24 November - Start of action phase of project. Leave Onderstepoort, Faculty of Veterinary Science and sleep at border at Beitbridge (463km)
  • Saturday 25 November - Drive to and sleep at Mutirikwa National Park
  • Sunday 26 November - Drive to University of Zimbabwe in Harare and sleep there.
  • Monday 27 November - Do the faculty tour and handing over of books . Drive on to Chirundi. Cross the border into Zambia. Drive to Kafue. Contact Liezl and Arthur Pienaar and sleep with them.
  • Tuesday 28 November - Drive to Lusaka ( 60 km) and sleep at the University's Veterinary School.
  • Wednesday 29 November - Faculty tour and handing over of books. Sleep at Luanshya or Kitwe municipal camping grounds depending on arrival time (350-400 km)
  • Thursday 30 November - Drive to Chingola. From there to Chimfunshi (100 km)
  • Friday 1 December - Tour of Chimfunshi, handing over of medicines and funds raised for the wildlife orphanage.
  • Saturday 2 December - Drive to Democratic Republic of Congo's border, 16 km north of Chililabombwe. Nuns traveling from Lumbumbashi will meet us there for the handing over of books.
  • Sunday 3 December - Handling of chimpanzees at Chimfunshi.
  • Monday 4 December - Drive to Lavushi National Park / Mpika ( 400 km)
  • Tuesday 5 December - Futher north , pass Kasama an then to Mbala (388 km)
  • Wednesday 6 December - From Mbula North to the border ( 40 km) of Tanzania. Drive to Katavi National Park / Sitalike (321 km)
  • Thursday 7 December - North till 14 km before Kasula where we'll turn off to Kigoma (378 km). Another 40 km to Gomba Stream National Park.
  • Friday 8 December - Spend time with Jane Goodall and the Gorillas plus handing over of medicinal supplies.
  • Saturday 9 December - Drive to Kibondo backpackers/municipal camp (331 km)
  • Sunday 10 December - Kibondo to Biharamulo in Burigi Game Reserve (180 km)
  • Monday 11 December - Biharamulo to Bukoba where we will book a ferry for the return trip.
  • Tuesday 12 December - Bukoba to Mutukala border post (87 km) into Uganda and then to Kampala University.
  • Wednesday 13 December - Faculty tour of the University and handing over of books. Leave Kampala to Mutukala and sleep at the border.
  • Thursday 14 December - Mutukala to Bukoba (87 km) to catch ferry.
  • Friday 15 December - Arrive and sleep in Mwanza (Lake Victoria)
  • Saturday 16 December - Mwanza to Serorena Lodge (214 km)
  • Sunday 17 December - From Serorena to Ngorongoro crater. Meet contact of prof Coetzer (101 km)
  • Monday 18 December - Ngorongoro crater to Gelai Lumbwa (200 km)
  • Tuesday 19 December - Spend time at Gelai Lumbwa
  • Wednesday 20 December - Gelai Lumbwa to Longido. Longido to Arusha National Park (226 km)
  • Thursday 21 December - From Arusha National Park via Moshi to Same/Mkomazi Game Reserve (241 km)
  • Friday 22 December - Mkomazi Game Reserve to Tanga ( 274 km)
  • Saturday 23 December - Sunday 31 December - Tanga to Dar-Es-Salaam next to coast with ferrys
  • Monday 1 January - Spend time in Dar Es Salaam and drive to Morogoro University (193 km)
  • Tuesday 2 January - Faculty tour and handing over of books. Drive to Mikumi Wildlife tented camp (110 km)
  • Wednesday 3 January - Mikumi to Mbeya backpackers (700 km)
  • Thursday 4 January - Mbeya to Lilongwe/Nkotakota Bay backpackers. Pass into Malawi (774 km)
  • Friday 5 January - Lilongwe to Zambian border and then to Lusaka (709 km)
  • Saturday 6 January - Lusaka into Zimbabwe and to Harare (481 km)
  • Sunday 7 January - Harare to Beitbridge (603 km) and Beitbridge to Onderstepoort (463 km).

About GoogleScholar
 
How do I ...?
 

  My Library Space


  Ask a Librarian
  My Library Record
  View & Renew Material
  UPSpace
  Interlending: Requests  -  Info
 
clickUP (Students Online)
  Lecturers Online
  UP Portal

  Library Intranet (Staff Only)
 

  Web/ Library 2.0 Tools


 
 Click here for a list of Web/
   Library 2.0 Tools

 
 

 
View Web Statistics
 
Please give us your Feedback


FeedBlitz Help
 

 

Home About the Library Services/Facilities E-Resources Journals Catalogue Training Contact